wimlib
4 years agoUpdates to README and README.WINDOWS
Eric Biggers [Tue, 9 Jun 2015 01:49:06 +0000 (20:49 -0500)]
Updates to README and README.WINDOWS

4 years agoConsistently forbid directory hard links from being honored on capture
Eric Biggers [Sun, 7 Jun 2015 19:47:07 +0000 (14:47 -0500)]
Consistently forbid directory hard links from being honored on capture

4 years agoAdd new helper function for attaching newly scanned dentry tree
Eric Biggers [Sun, 7 Jun 2015 19:07:30 +0000 (14:07 -0500)]
Add new helper function for attaching newly scanned dentry tree

4 years agoAdd new helper function for ignoring scanned directory entries
Eric Biggers [Sun, 7 Jun 2015 14:56:41 +0000 (09:56 -0500)]
Add new helper function for ignoring scanned directory entries

4 years agoextract.c: control characters are invalid in filenames on Windows
Eric Biggers [Sun, 7 Jun 2015 14:38:19 +0000 (09:38 -0500)]
extract.c: control characters are invalid in filenames on Windows

4 years agoextract.c: trailing dot or space in filename is okay with Windows NT APIs
Eric Biggers [Sun, 7 Jun 2015 13:59:43 +0000 (08:59 -0500)]
extract.c: trailing dot or space in filename is okay with Windows NT APIs

4 years agoDon't ftruncate() after rewriting blob uncompressed
Eric Biggers [Sat, 6 Jun 2015 19:26:37 +0000 (14:26 -0500)]
Don't ftruncate() after rewriting blob uncompressed

4 years agontfs-3g_capture.c: save rpreserved field and fix "no reparse data" case
Eric Biggers [Sat, 6 Jun 2015 01:00:34 +0000 (20:00 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_capture.c: save rpreserved field and fix "no reparse data" case

4 years agowin32_capture.c: save rpreserved field
Eric Biggers [Sat, 6 Jun 2015 00:57:44 +0000 (19:57 -0500)]
win32_capture.c: save rpreserved field

4 years agov1.8.2-BETA
Eric Biggers [Tue, 2 Jun 2015 01:42:32 +0000 (20:42 -0500)]
v1.8.2-BETA

4 years agoAdd helper functions for passing paths to progress callbacks
Eric Biggers [Mon, 1 Jun 2015 04:44:09 +0000 (23:44 -0500)]
Add helper functions for passing paths to progress callbacks

4 years agosecurity.c: align total_length immediately after reading
Eric Biggers [Mon, 1 Jun 2015 04:20:23 +0000 (23:20 -0500)]
security.c: align total_length immediately after reading

4 years agoAdd helper function for rate-limiting progress messages
Eric Biggers [Mon, 1 Jun 2015 03:36:56 +0000 (22:36 -0500)]
Add helper function for rate-limiting progress messages

4 years agoSimplify wildcard pattern expansion
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 22:28:04 +0000 (17:28 -0500)]
Simplify wildcard pattern expansion

4 years agoRemove remaining DEBUG() messages
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 21:43:14 +0000 (16:43 -0500)]
Remove remaining DEBUG() messages

4 years agoextract.c: add missing will_extract_dentry() check
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 21:33:04 +0000 (16:33 -0500)]
extract.c: add missing will_extract_dentry() check

When skipping a dentry tree, not all dentries in that tree will
necessarily be in the extraction list.

4 years agoRename inode_first_dentry() => inode_any_dentry()
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 16:00:01 +0000 (11:00 -0500)]
Rename inode_first_dentry() => inode_any_dentry()

4 years agoDon't bother clearing i_devno after inode number reassignment
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:55:41 +0000 (10:55 -0500)]
Don't bother clearing i_devno after inode number reassignment

4 years agontfs-3g_apply.c: Do not use i_visited
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:43:49 +0000 (10:43 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: Do not use i_visited

The number of inodes examined is limited by MAX_OPEN_FILES, and we can
make it faster in the common case by checking i_num_streams.

4 years agotemplate.c: iterate through inodes instead of dentries
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:36:24 +0000 (10:36 -0500)]
template.c: iterate through inodes instead of dentries

4 years agoMake some declarations formatted the same as the definitions
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:19:16 +0000 (10:19 -0500)]
Make some declarations formatted the same as the definitions

4 years agoDon't use entire word for d_extraction_name_nchars
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:08:51 +0000 (10:08 -0500)]
Don't use entire word for d_extraction_name_nchars

4 years agoRename _full_path => d_full_path
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:13:06 +0000 (10:13 -0500)]
Rename _full_path => d_full_path

4 years agoRename subdir_offset => d_subdir_offset
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:06:11 +0000 (10:06 -0500)]
Rename subdir_offset => d_subdir_offset

4 years agoRename tmp_list => d_tmp_list
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:04:27 +0000 (10:04 -0500)]
Rename tmp_list => d_tmp_list

4 years agoRename is_orphan => d_is_orphan
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:03:39 +0000 (10:03 -0500)]
Rename is_orphan => d_is_orphan

4 years agoRename tmp_flag => d_tmp_flag
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:03:09 +0000 (10:03 -0500)]
Rename tmp_flag => d_tmp_flag

4 years agoRename is_win32_name => d_is_win32_name
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:02:39 +0000 (10:02 -0500)]
Rename is_win32_name => d_is_win32_name

4 years agoMove d_name before d_short_name
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 15:01:21 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
Move d_name before d_short_name

4 years agoRename dentry name fields
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 14:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0500)]
Rename dentry name fields

    file_name          => d_name
    file_name_nbytes   => d_name_nbytes
    short_name         => d_short_name
    short_name_nbytes  => d_short_name_nbytes

4 years agoRename i_hlist => i_hlist_node
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 14:52:13 +0000 (09:52 -0500)]
Rename i_hlist => i_hlist_node

4 years agoRename i_dentry => i_alias_list and d_alias => d_alias_node
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 14:43:34 +0000 (09:43 -0500)]
Rename i_dentry => i_alias_list and d_alias => d_alias_node

4 years agoRename num_remaining_streams => i_num_remaining_streams
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 14:31:11 +0000 (09:31 -0500)]
Rename num_remaining_streams => i_num_remaining_streams

4 years agoSave memory by using a singly-linked list for extraction aliases
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 05:36:25 +0000 (00:36 -0500)]
Save memory by using a singly-linked list for extraction aliases

4 years agoUse macros to iterate through extraction aliases
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 05:30:23 +0000 (00:30 -0500)]
Use macros to iterate through extraction aliases

4 years agoSave memory by consolidating inode flags
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 05:21:27 +0000 (00:21 -0500)]
Save memory by consolidating inode flags

4 years agoSave memory by using hlist for i_dentry
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 05:18:00 +0000 (00:18 -0500)]
Save memory by using hlist for i_dentry

4 years agoSave memory by avoiding padding after sha1_hash fields
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 05:13:08 +0000 (00:13 -0500)]
Save memory by avoiding padding after sha1_hash fields

4 years agoIterate through inodes instead of dentries in xml_update_image_info()
Eric Biggers [Sun, 31 May 2015 04:16:33 +0000 (23:16 -0500)]
Iterate through inodes instead of dentries in xml_update_image_info()

Slightly simpler and faster.

4 years agoReduce stack usage of recursive scan functions
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:23 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Reduce stack usage of recursive scan functions

Allocate large on-stack arrays in leaf functions only.

4 years agontfs-3g_capture.c: cleanup
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:22 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_capture.c: cleanup

4 years agoextract.c: simplify extract_from_tmpfile()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:21 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
extract.c: simplify extract_from_tmpfile()

Since win32_apply.c no longer will create external backing references at
blob extraction time, extract_from_tmpfile() can be simplified.

4 years agoNew helper function: inode_has_security_descriptor()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:20 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
New helper function: inode_has_security_descriptor()

4 years agoUpdate wimmount documentation
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:19 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Update wimmount documentation

4 years agoReparse point updates
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:18 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Reparse point updates

- Rename 'struct reparse_data' => 'struct link_reparse_point'
- Rename parse_reparse_data() => parse_link_reparse_data()
- Rename make_reparse_data() => make_link_reparse_point()
- Rename rp_unknown_1 => unknown_0x54 and move out of reparse point union
- Rename rp_unknown_2 => rp_reserved and store/restore
- Rename not_rpfixed => rp_flags and use 0x0001 as rpfix flag
- Use 'struct reparse_buffer_disk' in more places and not raw byte array
- Add new helper function: complete_reparse_point()
- Eliminate need for various assertions in reparse.c
- Improve handling of NT namespace paths in wim_inode_readlink()
- More closely follow POSIX readlink semantics in wim_inode_readlink()
- Set reparse tag and file attributes in wim_inode_readlink()
- Handle reparse point fixup in wim_inode_readlink() and support fixing
  up link targets in mounted WIM image
- Handle slashes between root and root-relative portion consistently
  between UNIX and Windows, and allow lossless handling of trailing
  slashes
- Use 0 as RP_NOT_FIXED in win32_apply.c
- Improve comments

4 years agoNew helper macro: ALIGN()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:16 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
New helper macro: ALIGN()

4 years agoUse explicit casting in ctype macros
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:15 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Use explicit casting in ctype macros

4 years agosha1.c: annotate load which may be unaligned
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:14 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
sha1.c: annotate load which may be unaligned

4 years agoenlarge_blob_table(): remove unnecessary hlist_del()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:13 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
enlarge_blob_table(): remove unnecessary hlist_del()

4 years agoNew helper: wim_reshdr_to_desc_and_blob()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:12 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
New helper: wim_reshdr_to_desc_and_blob()

4 years agowrite.c: do not remove empty blobs (not possible anymore)
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:11 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
write.c: do not remove empty blobs (not possible anymore)

4 years agoresource reading cleanups
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:09 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
resource reading cleanups

4 years agoAdd GUID helper functions
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:08 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Add GUID helper functions

4 years agoClean up pipable WIM extraction
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:07 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Clean up pipable WIM extraction

4 years agowrite.c: handle empty buffers in write_wim_resource_from_buffer()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:06 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
write.c: handle empty buffers in write_wim_resource_from_buffer()

4 years agoDisallow empty blobs from being read
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:05 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Disallow empty blobs from being read

4 years agoinode.c: do not create blob from zero-sized data buffer
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:04 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
inode.c: do not create blob from zero-sized data buffer

Moving forwards towards eliminating zero-size blobs: make
inode_add_stream_with_data() and inode_replace_stream_data() use a NULL
blob pointer for zero-length buffers.  Currently this can happen if a
Windows reparse point has no reparse data or if an empty named data
stream is created in a mounted WIM image.

4 years agoRequire size_in_wim == uncompressed_size for uncompressed resources
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:03 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Require size_in_wim == uncompressed_size for uncompressed resources

It required quite a bit of extra code to handle this case, which really
should just be considered invalid.

4 years agoUse little endian types for 'struct wim_header_disk'
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:02 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Use little endian types for 'struct wim_header_disk'

4 years agoFix tagged item parsing infinite loop when 32-bit and len=0xFFFFFFF8
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:48:00 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Fix tagged item parsing infinite loop when 32-bit and len=0xFFFFFFF8

4 years agoutil.c: Simplify strdup and wcsdup
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:47:59 +0000 (15:47 -0500)]
util.c: Simplify strdup and wcsdup

4 years agoUse "EXIT" instead of "exit" in bash trap statements
Eric Biggers [Sat, 30 May 2015 20:47:58 +0000 (15:47 -0500)]
Use "EXIT" instead of "exit" in bash trap statements

The lower case version does not work in a Turkish locale.  The upper case
version is what the bash docs actually mention and is what bash actually
checks against using strcasecmp().

4 years agov1.8.1 v1.8.1
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 May 2015 22:30:45 +0000 (17:30 -0500)]
v1.8.1

4 years agowrite.c: Move and fix check for defaulting to solid compression
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 May 2015 21:47:47 +0000 (16:47 -0500)]
write.c: Move and fix check for defaulting to solid compression

This check should be made higher up, not in write_file_data_blobs().

In addition, it must be checked that WIMLIB_WRITE_FLAG_PIPABLE is not set.

4 years agowimlib-imagex: Adjust wording of extract progress message
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 May 2015 21:17:08 +0000 (16:17 -0500)]
wimlib-imagex: Adjust wording of extract progress message

4 years agoDisallow image metadata in solid resources
Eric Biggers [Sat, 16 May 2015 15:23:00 +0000 (10:23 -0500)]
Disallow image metadata in solid resources

4 years agowin32_apply: Improved warning messages for WIMBoot extraction
Eric Biggers [Tue, 12 May 2015 04:09:05 +0000 (23:09 -0500)]
win32_apply: Improved warning messages for WIMBoot extraction

4 years agowin32_apply: Stricter checks of resource format for WOF external backing
Eric Biggers [Tue, 12 May 2015 04:07:33 +0000 (23:07 -0500)]
win32_apply: Stricter checks of resource format for WOF external backing

- Only allow resources from WIM files with original file format
- Only allow XPRESS 4K/8K/16K/32K and LZX 32K resources

4 years agowin32_apply: Support multiple source WIM files for WIMBoot extraction
Eric Biggers [Tue, 12 May 2015 01:41:06 +0000 (20:41 -0500)]
win32_apply: Support multiple source WIM files for WIMBoot extraction

4 years agowiminfo: fix string definitions for Windows
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 May 2015 01:30:55 +0000 (20:30 -0500)]
wiminfo: fix string definitions for Windows

4 years agoencoding.c: Upgrade upcase table and rewrite decompression code
Eric Biggers [Thu, 7 May 2015 02:38:30 +0000 (21:38 -0500)]
encoding.c: Upgrade upcase table and rewrite decompression code

4 years agoAlways use abbreviated integer types in library code
Eric Biggers [Thu, 7 May 2015 01:26:21 +0000 (20:26 -0500)]
Always use abbreviated integer types in library code

4 years agowin32_common.c: Missed place where winnt_error() can be used
Eric Biggers [Thu, 7 May 2015 01:25:17 +0000 (20:25 -0500)]
win32_common.c: Missed place where winnt_error() can be used

4 years agowimlib-imagex-apply.1: abbreviate off-topic docs about booting Windows
Eric Biggers [Tue, 5 May 2015 05:04:30 +0000 (00:04 -0500)]
wimlib-imagex-apply.1: abbreviate off-topic docs about booting Windows

4 years agowiminfo: consolidate boolean flags into single line
Eric Biggers [Tue, 5 May 2015 03:03:53 +0000 (22:03 -0500)]
wiminfo: consolidate boolean flags into single line

4 years agowimlib_wim_info: update docs for flag bits
Eric Biggers [Tue, 5 May 2015 03:19:54 +0000 (22:19 -0500)]
wimlib_wim_info: update docs for flag bits

4 years agowimlib-imagex-capture.1: doc improvements
Eric Biggers [Tue, 5 May 2015 04:42:13 +0000 (23:42 -0500)]
wimlib-imagex-capture.1: doc improvements

4 years agoSwap all slashes in UNIX <=> Windows symlink translation
Eric Biggers [Tue, 5 May 2015 04:12:32 +0000 (23:12 -0500)]
Swap all slashes in UNIX <=> Windows symlink translation

If we swap both slash types when translating each way, then the
translation is lossless.

4 years agoImproved error reporting if loading capture configuration file fails
Eric Biggers [Sun, 3 May 2015 21:35:11 +0000 (16:35 -0500)]
Improved error reporting if loading capture configuration file fails

4 years ago<sys/types.h> is sometimes required before <attr/xattr.h>
Eric Biggers [Sun, 3 May 2015 20:01:58 +0000 (15:01 -0500)]
<sys/types.h> is sometimes required before <attr/xattr.h>

4 years ago<sys/types.h> is required before <sys/sysctl.h> on FreeBSD
Eric Biggers [Sun, 3 May 2015 19:53:10 +0000 (14:53 -0500)]
<sys/types.h> is required before <sys/sysctl.h> on FreeBSD

4 years agoheader.h: fix outdated comment
Eric Biggers [Sun, 3 May 2015 01:55:55 +0000 (20:55 -0500)]
header.h: fix outdated comment

4 years agowrite_wim_header(): remove unnecessary condition
Eric Biggers [Sun, 3 May 2015 01:19:34 +0000 (20:19 -0500)]
write_wim_header(): remove unnecessary condition

4 years agoMove CPU and memory information to util
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 22:54:04 +0000 (17:54 -0500)]
Move CPU and memory information to util

4 years agoMake win32.h includable on non-Windows
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 22:47:07 +0000 (17:47 -0500)]
Make win32.h includable on non-Windows

4 years agowimlib_export_image(): error if src_wim == dest_wim
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 22:40:06 +0000 (17:40 -0500)]
wimlib_export_image(): error if src_wim == dest_wim

4 years agowrite: various cleanups
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 21:54:38 +0000 (16:54 -0500)]
write: various cleanups

- When writing or overwriting WIM file, fill in a new variable
  wim->out_hdr instead of overwriting wim->hdr which was subject to bugs
- When writing WIM file, create new header from scratch instead of
  copying old one
- Remove redundant private flags
- Remove debug statements (they are rarely used, outdated, and now
  missing from most parts of the library)

4 years agomount_image: ensure we always begin with empty file descriptor array
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 22:25:29 +0000 (17:25 -0500)]
mount_image: ensure we always begin with empty file descriptor array

4 years agoxml.c: Fix writing XML data for one image only
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 20:07:50 +0000 (15:07 -0500)]
xml.c: Fix writing XML data for one image only

4 years agowimlib_print_header(): fix printing of magic number
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 20:52:43 +0000 (15:52 -0500)]
wimlib_print_header(): fix printing of magic number

4 years agosha1.h: remove unused inline functions
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 20:40:58 +0000 (15:40 -0500)]
sha1.h: remove unused inline functions

4 years agowim.c: adjust wimlib_compression_type casting
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:57:56 +0000 (14:57 -0500)]
wim.c: adjust wimlib_compression_type casting

4 years agoWin32 capture: sort streams by starting LCN
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 18:39:17 +0000 (13:39 -0500)]
Win32 capture: sort streams by starting LCN

4 years agoNTFS-3g capture: use reference-counted NTFS volumes
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 16:35:59 +0000 (11:35 -0500)]
NTFS-3g capture: use reference-counted NTFS volumes

This avoids the hack of storing the NTFS volume in
'struct wim_image_metadata'.

4 years agoNTFS-3g capture: sort attributes by starting LCN
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 15:41:47 +0000 (10:41 -0500)]
NTFS-3g capture: sort attributes by starting LCN

4 years agoNTFS-3g capture: open inodes by inode number
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 15:11:43 +0000 (10:11 -0500)]
NTFS-3g capture: open inodes by inode number

4 years agowim_inode: Remove i_list, leaving only i_hlist
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 May 2015 02:51:40 +0000 (21:51 -0500)]
wim_inode: Remove i_list, leaving only i_hlist

4 years agoVarious cleanups
Eric Biggers [Fri, 1 May 2015 02:26:32 +0000 (21:26 -0500)]
Various cleanups

4 years agoNew helper: inode_get_unnamed_data_stream()
Eric Biggers [Fri, 1 May 2015 03:53:05 +0000 (22:53 -0500)]
New helper: inode_get_unnamed_data_stream()

4 years agomount_image.c: set st_blocks to compressed size
Eric Biggers [Fri, 1 May 2015 03:45:49 +0000 (22:45 -0500)]
mount_image.c: set st_blocks to compressed size