wimlib
16 months agowimcapture, wimappend: semantics updates wimcapture_wimappend_semantics_update
Eric Biggers [Sun, 14 Aug 2016 17:03:18 +0000 (10:03 -0700)]
wimcapture, wimappend: semantics updates

- wimcapture refuses to overwrite existing archive without confirmation
- wimappend automatically creates archive if needed

16 months agowimapply.1: fix documentation for valid Windows filenames
Eric Biggers [Sun, 14 Aug 2016 16:27:16 +0000 (09:27 -0700)]
wimapply.1: fix documentation for valid Windows filenames

* "must end with space or period" is not a restriction for NT APIs
* control characters are forbidden

16 months agowin32_apply.c: detect case-sensitive filename support
Eric Biggers [Sun, 14 Aug 2016 15:56:58 +0000 (08:56 -0700)]
win32_apply.c: detect case-sensitive filename support

16 months agontfs-3g_apply.c: open $Secure
Eric Biggers [Fri, 29 Jul 2016 21:43:57 +0000 (14:43 -0700)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: open $Secure

16 months agontfs-3g_capture.c: update $Secure handling
Eric Biggers [Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:30:01 +0000 (09:30 -0700)]
ntfs-3g_capture.c: update $Secure handling

16 months agolibattr is no longer needed
Eric Biggers [Wed, 27 Jul 2016 00:10:05 +0000 (17:10 -0700)]
libattr is no longer needed

wimlib only uses the extended attributes interface on Linux, where it
appears it is now safe to assume the functions are present in libc (see:
http://lists.nongnu.org/archive/html/acl-devel/2012-04/msg00001.html).

Note: the setfattr program from the "attr" package is still required to
run the NTFS-3G test script.

16 months agoSync AVL tree code from project
Eric Biggers [Tue, 26 Jul 2016 16:16:43 +0000 (09:16 -0700)]
Sync AVL tree code from project

16 months agoavl_tree: remove now-unused support for "unlinked" marker
Eric Biggers [Tue, 26 Jul 2016 02:57:20 +0000 (19:57 -0700)]
avl_tree: remove now-unused support for "unlinked" marker

16 months agoUnify case-sensitive and case-insensitive filename indices
Eric Biggers [Tue, 26 Jul 2016 02:14:42 +0000 (19:14 -0700)]
Unify case-sensitive and case-insensitive filename indices

16 months agoavl_tree: add avl_tree_prev_in_order()
Eric Biggers [Tue, 26 Jul 2016 02:14:21 +0000 (19:14 -0700)]
avl_tree: add avl_tree_prev_in_order()

16 months agoAdd program to report NTFS volume fragmentation
Eric Biggers [Mon, 25 Jul 2016 02:01:09 +0000 (19:01 -0700)]
Add program to report NTFS volume fragmentation

16 months agontfs-3g_apply.c: note version in which ntfs_attr_pwrite() was fixed
Eric Biggers [Mon, 25 Jul 2016 00:22:09 +0000 (17:22 -0700)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: note version in which ntfs_attr_pwrite() was fixed

16 months agolzx_compress: make lzx_cost_for_probability() more robust
Eric Biggers [Sun, 24 Jul 2016 21:13:17 +0000 (14:13 -0700)]
lzx_compress: make lzx_cost_for_probability() more robust

16 months agolzms_common.c: support x32 ABI in find_next_opcode_sse4_2()
Eric Biggers [Tue, 19 Jul 2016 16:00:17 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
lzms_common.c: support x32 ABI in find_next_opcode_sse4_2()

16 months agoavl_tree: replace 'AVL_INLINE' with 'forceinline'
Eric Biggers [Tue, 19 Jul 2016 16:00:17 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
avl_tree: replace 'AVL_INLINE' with 'forceinline'

16 months agoREADME.WINDOWS: describe 64-bit build by default
Eric Biggers [Tue, 19 Jul 2016 16:00:16 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
README.WINDOWS: describe 64-bit build by default

16 months agoREADME.WINDOWS: update build instructions for v1.10.0
Eric Biggers [Tue, 19 Jul 2016 16:00:15 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
README.WINDOWS: update build instructions for v1.10.0

17 months agoconfigure.ac: Do not check for <sys/param.h>
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 17:13:23 +0000 (12:13 -0500)]
configure.ac: Do not check for <sys/param.h>

This header is conditionally included by <ntfs-3g/endians.h>.  It defines
too much stuff on certain platforms, e.g. an ALIGN() macro on FreeBSD,
and it appears redundant with other methods of determining the
endianness.

17 months agontfs-3g_capture.c: include <ntfs-3g/compat.h> to get ENODATA definition
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 17:12:14 +0000 (12:12 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_capture.c: include <ntfs-3g/compat.h> to get ENODATA definition

Some platforms, e.g. FreeBSD, do not define ENODATA.  On such platforms,
libntfs-3g uses ENOENT instead, and <ntfs-3g/compat.h> defines ENODATA as
ENOENT.

17 months agoUpdate NEWS
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:27 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
Update NEWS

17 months agoStop force-inlining everything marked 'inline'
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:26 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
Stop force-inlining everything marked 'inline'

Instead, replace 'inline' with 'forceinline' in selected places.

17 months agobitops: rename bit scan functions
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:25 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
bitops: rename bit scan functions

Our bit scan functions use 0-based indices and do not allow zero inputs.
Rename them to 'bsr' and 'bsf' to match the x86 instructions and avoid
confusion with another common convention for 'fls' and 'ffs'.

17 months agoxpress_decompress: tweak comment about end-of-block symbol
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:24 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
xpress_decompress: tweak comment about end-of-block symbol

17 months agodecompress_common: move temp space for building decode table to heap
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:23 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
decompress_common: move temp space for building decode table to heap

17 months agoxpress_decompress: allocate decode table on heap instead of stack
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:22 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
xpress_decompress: allocate decode table on heap instead of stack

17 months agodecompress_common: introduce fast path for lz_copy()
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:22 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
decompress_common: introduce fast path for lz_copy()

17 months agodecompress_common: switch to subtables for Huffman decoding
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:21 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
decompress_common: switch to subtables for Huffman decoding

17 months agolzx_common: add constant for maximum number of extra offset bits
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:20 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
lzx_common: add constant for maximum number of extra offset bits

17 months agolzx_common: add constants for minimum aligned offset slot
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:19 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
lzx_common: add constants for minimum aligned offset slot

17 months agolzx_decompress: optimize use of extra offset bits array
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:18 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
lzx_decompress: optimize use of extra offset bits array

17 months agolzx_common: make lzx_offset_slot_base hold unadjusted offsets
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:17 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
lzx_common: make lzx_offset_slot_base hold unadjusted offsets

17 months agolzx_decompress: decompressor cleanup
Eric Biggers [Sat, 9 Jul 2016 15:01:16 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
lzx_decompress: decompressor cleanup

17 months agov1.10.0-BETA
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 14:05:19 +0000 (09:05 -0500)]
v1.10.0-BETA

17 months agoAdd program to run compression benchmarks
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 03:50:30 +0000 (22:50 -0500)]
Add program to run compression benchmarks

17 months agoLZX compressor improvements
Eric Biggers [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 03:31:17 +0000 (22:31 -0500)]
LZX compressor improvements

- Improved block splitting algorithm
- Consider gap matches
- Improved default cost initialization
- Other improvements and cleanups

17 months agoIntroduce ilog2_ceil()
Eric Biggers [Wed, 22 Jun 2016 01:02:00 +0000 (20:02 -0500)]
Introduce ilog2_ceil()

17 months agoRename WORDSIZE to WORDBYTES and introduce WORDBITS
Eric Biggers [Wed, 22 Jun 2016 01:01:59 +0000 (20:01 -0500)]
Rename WORDSIZE to WORDBYTES and introduce WORDBITS

17 months agobt_matchfinder: remove unnecessary max_len parameter to skip routine
Eric Biggers [Wed, 22 Jun 2016 01:01:58 +0000 (20:01 -0500)]
bt_matchfinder: remove unnecessary max_len parameter to skip routine

17 months agolz_extend: simplify lz_extend() slightly
Eric Biggers [Wed, 22 Jun 2016 01:01:57 +0000 (20:01 -0500)]
lz_extend: simplify lz_extend() slightly

Unrolling the first four word copies does not seem give noticably better
performance anymore, and on a recent Intel processor actually appears to
decrease the performance slightly.

17 months agowlfuzz: generate a wider range of filenames
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:28 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
wlfuzz: generate a wider range of filenames

17 months agoREADME: note that a newer version of libntfs-3g is recommended
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:26 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
README: note that a newer version of libntfs-3g is recommended

17 months agontfs-3g_apply.c: inform user about yet another possible NTFS-3G bug
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:26 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: inform user about yet another possible NTFS-3G bug

17 months agontfs-3g_apply.c: do not fix up security descriptors anymore
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:25 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: do not fix up security descriptors anymore

17 months agounix_capture.c: add error messages for invalid UTF-8
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:24 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
unix_capture.c: add error messages for invalid UTF-8

17 months agoCharacter encoding and string conversion updates
Eric Biggers [Sat, 25 Jun 2016 00:41:23 +0000 (19:41 -0500)]
Character encoding and string conversion updates

- Allow unpaired surrogates when translating between "UTF-8" and
  "UTF-16LE".  This allows Windows-style filenames to be processed
  losslessly on UNIX-like systems, even if they are not valid UTF-16LE.

- Implement UTF-8 and UTF-16LE codecs ourselves and drop the iconv
  requirement.  This was necessary to allow surrogate codepoints, but it
  also provides better performance and actually results in *fewer* lines
  of code and a slightly smaller binary.

- Drop support for multibyte encodings other than UTF-8 on UNIX-like
  systems.  It is probably not worth the effort to support such
  encodings.  Interestingly, the support was entirely broken before
  v1.9.1, yet no one ever complained...

17 months agodentry.c: ignore filenames with embedded null characters
Eric Biggers [Sat, 11 Jun 2016 18:28:18 +0000 (13:28 -0500)]
dentry.c: ignore filenames with embedded null characters

17 months agowimlib.h: update git links for gitlist => gitweb replacement
Eric Biggers [Sat, 11 Jun 2016 18:28:17 +0000 (13:28 -0500)]
wimlib.h: update git links for gitlist => gitweb replacement

18 months agov1.9.2 v1.9.2
Eric Biggers [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 02:08:42 +0000 (21:08 -0500)]
v1.9.2

18 months agoUpdate libxml to 2.9.4 for Windows binaries
Eric Biggers [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 02:07:03 +0000 (21:07 -0500)]
Update libxml to 2.9.4 for Windows binaries

19 months agoDo not use read() and write() from MSVCRT
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 18:15:05 +0000 (13:15 -0500)]
Do not use read() and write() from MSVCRT

19 months agomake-windows-release: allow extra configure args on command line
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 03:39:17 +0000 (22:39 -0500)]
make-windows-release: allow extra configure args on command line

This is useful for testing with --enable-test-support.

19 months agowin32_apply.c: WRITE_DAC is no longer needed when creating directory
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 03:13:53 +0000 (22:13 -0500)]
win32_apply.c: WRITE_DAC is no longer needed when creating directory

19 months ago.gitignore: ignore wlfuzz binary
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 02:32:49 +0000 (21:32 -0500)]
.gitignore: ignore wlfuzz binary

19 months agowin32_apply.c: better workaround for access denied bug when creating ADS
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 02:18:00 +0000 (21:18 -0500)]
win32_apply.c: better workaround for access denied bug when creating ADS

Removing directory DACLs was not really a good idea, since this state can
too easily remain after extraction.  Instead, since the unexpected
STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED error only occurs when creating an empty named data
stream, we can avoid the error by requesting no permissions on the
handle.  It happens that no permissions are needed anyway.

19 months agoimagex: don't define mount_options and unmount_options if unneeded
Eric Biggers [Sun, 15 May 2016 01:18:11 +0000 (20:18 -0500)]
imagex: don't define mount_options and unmount_options if unneeded

19 months agov1.9.2-BETA2
Eric Biggers [Tue, 10 May 2016 02:32:09 +0000 (21:32 -0500)]
v1.9.2-BETA2

19 months agoCOPYING: adjust word choice
Eric Biggers [Thu, 5 May 2016 05:24:02 +0000 (00:24 -0500)]
COPYING: adjust word choice

19 months agoRestore comments that were accidentally deleted
Eric Biggers [Thu, 28 Apr 2016 03:28:20 +0000 (22:28 -0500)]
Restore comments that were accidentally deleted

19 months agowimcapture.1: add note about --update-of being unreliable on Windows
Eric Biggers [Thu, 28 Apr 2016 01:28:07 +0000 (20:28 -0500)]
wimcapture.1: add note about --update-of being unreliable on Windows

19 months agoUpdate NEWS
Eric Biggers [Wed, 27 Apr 2016 05:11:32 +0000 (00:11 -0500)]
Update NEWS

19 months agoUse more comprehensive public domain dedications
Eric Biggers [Wed, 27 Apr 2016 05:05:17 +0000 (00:05 -0500)]
Use more comprehensive public domain dedications

19 months agoCOPYING: updates and clarifications
Eric Biggers [Wed, 27 Apr 2016 02:07:04 +0000 (21:07 -0500)]
COPYING: updates and clarifications

19 months agoREADME: tweak the last section
Eric Biggers [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 03:31:16 +0000 (22:31 -0500)]
README: tweak the last section

19 months agov1.9.2-BETA
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 15:08:54 +0000 (10:08 -0500)]
v1.9.2-BETA

19 months agoCapitalize "Windows Overlay Filesystem" consistently
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 15:06:18 +0000 (10:06 -0500)]
Capitalize "Windows Overlay Filesystem" consistently

19 months agowimboot.c: correctly handle next_data_source_id field
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:45:00 +0000 (09:45 -0500)]
wimboot.c: correctly handle next_data_source_id field

19 months agointegrity.c: correctly validate minimum integrity table size
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:58 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
integrity.c: correctly validate minimum integrity table size

19 months agoxml_windows.c: use correct integer type (no change in behavior)
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:58 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
xml_windows.c: use correct integer type (no change in behavior)

19 months agowimlib.h: document receiving "unmount begin" progress message
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:57 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
wimlib.h: document receiving "unmount begin" progress message

19 months agowimlib.h: fix typo
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:56 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
wimlib.h: fix typo

19 months agontfs-3g_apply.c: update notes about libntfs-3g versions
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:55 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
ntfs-3g_apply.c: update notes about libntfs-3g versions

19 months agounix_apply.c: fix overwriting existing readonly files
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:54 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
unix_apply.c: fix overwriting existing readonly files

19 months agoAdd randomized testing program
Eric Biggers [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 14:44:54 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
Add randomized testing program

Introduce the ability to configure the library with test-specific code,
add in-library code for directory tree generation and comparison, and add
the "wlfuzz" randomized test runner which uses the new functionality.

21 months agov1.9.1 v1.9.1
Eric Biggers [Sat, 12 Mar 2016 03:54:17 +0000 (21:54 -0600)]
v1.9.1

21 months agoUpdate NEWS
Eric Biggers [Sat, 12 Mar 2016 03:53:25 +0000 (21:53 -0600)]
Update NEWS

21 months agowin32_apply.c: correct return value of adjust_compression_attribute
Eric Biggers [Sat, 12 Mar 2016 03:35:24 +0000 (21:35 -0600)]
win32_apply.c: correct return value of adjust_compression_attribute

21 months agoFix detection of non UTF-8 locales
Eric Biggers [Sun, 6 Mar 2016 23:17:46 +0000 (17:17 -0600)]
Fix detection of non UTF-8 locales

21 months agoRemove sle{16,32,64} types
Eric Biggers [Fri, 4 Mar 2016 07:21:22 +0000 (01:21 -0600)]
Remove sle{16,32,64} types

21 months agowin32_capture: Enlarge FSCTL_QUERY_FILE_LAYOUT buffer when needed
Eric Biggers [Fri, 4 Mar 2016 02:57:47 +0000 (20:57 -0600)]
win32_capture: Enlarge FSCTL_QUERY_FILE_LAYOUT buffer when needed

32768 bytes is not always enough.

21 months agowimmount.1: remove mention of deprecated --lazy option
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 03:33:37 +0000 (21:33 -0600)]
wimmount.1: remove mention of deprecated --lazy option

21 months agoREADME.WINDOWS: clarify different license files
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 03:26:17 +0000 (21:26 -0600)]
README.WINDOWS: clarify different license files

21 months agoInclude divsufsort.c license with Windows distribution
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 03:16:34 +0000 (21:16 -0600)]
Include divsufsort.c license with Windows distribution

21 months agos/NTFS-3g/NTFS-3G/g
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 03:09:08 +0000 (21:09 -0600)]
s/NTFS-3g/NTFS-3G/g

21 months agoRename string_set to string_list
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 03:04:41 +0000 (21:04 -0600)]
Rename string_set to string_list

21 months agoVarious renamings from "capture" to "scan"
Eric Biggers [Thu, 3 Mar 2016 02:07:19 +0000 (20:07 -0600)]
Various renamings from "capture" to "scan"

21 months agoBriefly describe --unsafe-compact for each command
Eric Biggers [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 01:41:30 +0000 (19:41 -0600)]
Briefly describe --unsafe-compact for each command

21 months agowimapply.1: update mentions of sparse file attribute
Eric Biggers [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 00:56:41 +0000 (18:56 -0600)]
wimapply.1: update mentions of sparse file attribute

21 months agoUpdate feature lists
Eric Biggers [Mon, 22 Feb 2016 05:14:41 +0000 (23:14 -0600)]
Update feature lists

21 months agoMove compression benchmark tables to website
Eric Biggers [Mon, 22 Feb 2016 04:50:11 +0000 (22:50 -0600)]
Move compression benchmark tables to website

21 months agoStandardize wording: "since wimlib vX.X.X"
Eric Biggers [Mon, 22 Feb 2016 03:30:25 +0000 (21:30 -0600)]
Standardize wording: "since wimlib vX.X.X"

21 months agowin32-test-imagex-capture_and_apply: eliminate unnecessary %errorlevel% checks
Eric Biggers [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 04:54:13 +0000 (22:54 -0600)]
win32-test-imagex-capture_and_apply: eliminate unnecessary %errorlevel% checks

21 months agoRename tests-common.sh => test_utils.sh
Eric Biggers [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 04:43:41 +0000 (22:43 -0600)]
Rename tests-common.sh => test_utils.sh

21 months agoRemove tests/multi-mount
Eric Biggers [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 04:34:13 +0000 (22:34 -0600)]
Remove tests/multi-mount

21 months agowin32_apply.c: fix misleading indentation
Eric Biggers [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 04:27:18 +0000 (22:27 -0600)]
win32_apply.c: fix misleading indentation

21 months agowimlib.h: various documentation cleanups and improvements
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:45 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
wimlib.h: various documentation cleanups and improvements

21 months agoerror.c: clarify two error descriptions
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:44 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
error.c: clarify two error descriptions

21 months agoUpdate NEWS
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:43 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
Update NEWS

21 months agoMake 'wimdir --detailed' show object IDs
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:43 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
Make 'wimdir --detailed' show object IDs

21 months agoAdd support for capturing/applying object IDs
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:42 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
Add support for capturing/applying object IDs

21 months agowin32_common: simplify DLL initialization
Eric Biggers [Thu, 18 Feb 2016 02:21:41 +0000 (20:21 -0600)]
win32_common: simplify DLL initialization