resource.c: Don't manually align buffer for uncompressed data
authorEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Dec 2014 02:06:42 +0000 (20:06 -0600)
committerEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Dec 2014 02:15:15 +0000 (20:15 -0600)
The main reason this was being done was to speed up LZX postprocessing,
but that now can use the vectorized version (with a tiny bit of overhead)
even if the start of the buffer is not 16-byte aligned.

src/resource.c

index 20e27e1..13c1581 100644 (file)
@@ -137,7 +137,6 @@ read_compressed_wim_resource(const struct wim_resource_spec * const rspec,
        int errno_save;
 
        u64 *chunk_offsets = NULL;
-       u8 *_ubuf = NULL;
        u8 *ubuf = NULL;
        void *cbuf = NULL;
        bool chunk_offsets_malloced = false;
@@ -368,14 +367,13 @@ read_compressed_wim_resource(const struct wim_resource_spec * const rspec,
 
        /* Allocate buffer for holding the uncompressed data of each chunk.  */
        if (chunk_size <= STACK_MAX) {
-               _ubuf = alloca(chunk_size + 15);
+               ubuf = alloca(chunk_size);
        } else {
-               _ubuf = MALLOC(chunk_size + 15);
-               if (_ubuf == NULL)
+               ubuf = MALLOC(chunk_size);
+               if (ubuf == NULL)
                        goto oom;
                ubuf_malloced = true;
        }
-       ubuf = (u8 *)(((uintptr_t)_ubuf + 15) & ~15);
 
        /* Allocate a temporary buffer for reading compressed chunks, each of
         * which can be at most @chunk_size - 1 bytes.  This excludes compressed
@@ -549,7 +547,7 @@ out_free_memory:
        if (chunk_offsets_malloced)
                FREE(chunk_offsets);
        if (ubuf_malloced)
-               FREE(_ubuf);
+               FREE(ubuf);
        if (cbuf_malloced)
                FREE(cbuf);
        errno = errno_save;