unix_apply.c: Use O_NOFOLLOW when opening files
authorEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Jan 2014 17:33:55 +0000 (11:33 -0600)
committerEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Jan 2014 17:38:50 +0000 (11:38 -0600)
If the destination directory contained a symbolic link and wimlib
attempted to extract a regular file to the same location, it would write
the file to the target of the symbolic link, which could point to an
arbitrary location.  Fix this by passing O_NOFOLLOW to open().

src/unix_apply.c

index 21a804a..8d549f6 100644 (file)
 #  include <utime.h>
 #endif
 
+#ifndef O_NOFOLLOW
+#  define O_NOFOLLOW 0
+#endif
+
 static int
 unix_start_extract(const char *target, struct apply_ctx *ctx)
 {
@@ -56,7 +60,7 @@ unix_start_extract(const char *target, struct apply_ctx *ctx)
 static int
 unix_create_file(const char *path, struct apply_ctx *ctx, u64 *cookie_ret)
 {
-       int fd = open(path, O_TRUNC | O_CREAT | O_WRONLY, 0644);
+       int fd = open(path, O_TRUNC | O_CREAT | O_WRONLY | O_NOFOLLOW, 0644);
        if (fd < 0)
                return WIMLIB_ERR_OPEN;
        close(fd);
@@ -118,7 +122,7 @@ unix_extract_unnamed_stream(file_spec_t file,
        int raw_fd;
        int ret;
 
-       raw_fd = open(path, O_WRONLY | O_TRUNC);
+       raw_fd = open(path, O_WRONLY | O_TRUNC | O_NOFOLLOW);
        if (raw_fd < 0)
                return WIMLIB_ERR_OPEN;
        filedes_init(&fd, raw_fd);