win32_capture.c: Use volume ID as device number
authorEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Sat, 6 Sep 2014 04:56:20 +0000 (23:56 -0500)
committerEric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Sat, 6 Sep 2014 05:00:11 +0000 (00:00 -0500)
src/win32_capture.c

index 8cf32ef..2df80f3 100644 (file)
@@ -1237,13 +1237,17 @@ winnt_build_dentry_tree_recursive(struct wim_dentry **root_ret,
         * However, we need to explicitly check for directories and files with
         * only 1 link and refuse to hard link them.  This is because Windows
         * has a bug where it can return duplicate File IDs for files and
-        * directories on the FAT filesystem. */
+        * directories on the FAT filesystem.
+        *
+        * Since we don't follow mount points on Windows, we don't need to query
+        * the volume ID per-file.  Just once, for the root, is enough.  But we
+        * can't simply pass 0, because then there could be inode collisions
+        * among multiple calls to win32_build_dentry_tree() that are scanning
+        * files on different volumes.  */
        ret = inode_table_new_dentry(params->inode_table,
                                     filename,
                                     file_info.InternalInformation.IndexNumber.QuadPart,
-                                    0, /* We don't follow mount points, so we
-                                          currently don't need to get the
-                                          volume ID / device number.  */
+                                    params->capture_root_dev,
                                     (file_info.StandardInformation.NumberOfLinks <= 1 ||
                                        (file_info.BasicInformation.FileAttributes &
                                         FILE_ATTRIBUTE_DIRECTORY)),