wimlib without archive

Comments, questions, bug reports, etc.
Post Reply
bliblubli
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:45 am

wimlib without archive

Post by bliblubli »

Would it be possible to use wimlib to backup to a directory instead of an archive? Like a wim capture and win extract in one step. It would allow to benefit from wimlib's stability and functionnality to make easily browsable incremental backups from the command line.
synchronicity
Site Admin
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by synchronicity »

It's possible to abuse the pipable WIM support to copy a directory:

Code: Select all

wimcapture src - --compress=none | wimapply - dest
Although, you could just use 'cp -a src dst' instead. (Or 'xcopy /e' on Windows.)
bliblubli
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:45 am

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by bliblubli »

thanks. xcopy doesn't work for long path, robocopy does but doesn't respect hardlinks, making the backup much bigger than the original. Cp also doens't respect hardlinks.

I tried it in powershell and got this output:

Code: Select all

[WARNING] Creating a pipable WIM, which will be incompatible
          with Microsoft's software (WIMGAPI/ImageX/DISM).
Archiving file data: 6668 bytes of 6668 bytes (100%) done
[ERROR] "[fd 0]": Header size is invalid (63 bytes)
ERROR: Exiting with error code 17:
       The WIM header was invalid.
synchronicity
Site Admin
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by synchronicity »

Powershell corrupts binary data; I can't do anything about it. Use cmd.exe instead.
bliblubli
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:45 am

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by bliblubli »

:D awesome. Microsoft is making Linux more attractive every day.

> instead of | seems to work indeed in cmd. However, some strange lines are printed with it:

Code: Select all

ArchiAvpipnlgy ifnigl ei mdaagtea :1  0( "biyntteesl "o)f  f6r6o6m8  "b(yntuelsl )("0 %t)o  ddoinreectory "c:\tmp\"
AErxcthriavcitnign gf ifliel ed adtaat:a :6 666686 8b ybtyetse so fo f6 666686 8b ybtyetse s( 1(0100%0)% )d odnoen
e
It looks like the progress text being somehow different when pipping. But I wanted to be sure everything is looking alright from your point of view?
synchronicity
Site Admin
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by synchronicity »

The output will be garbled because both commands will print their progress lines at the same time. There isn't a --quiet option yet, but you could try redirecting the output of the second command to /dev/null ("nul" in cmd.exe) I guess.
bliblubli
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:45 am

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by bliblubli »

your help is really appreciated :)
synchronicity
Site Admin
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by synchronicity »

wimlib-imagex v1.12.0-BETA2 has a --quiet option now.
bliblubli
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:45 am

Re: wimlib without archive

Post by bliblubli »

really much better to read, thanks you :)
Post Reply